Switzerland: Zürich and Interlaken

Switzerland is the just-right combination of unreal fantasy and the most ideal of realities. Lush, flowering green valleys tucked between rough, snow-covered mountains, punctuated by gorgeous lakes and quaint little villages. I knew that Zürich was on my must-see list, and I was determined to finally make the journey there on this trip to Europe. Flights booked, airbnb booked, buses booked, and we were on our way. I went with two friends who I had met studying in Spain and we had the experience of a lifetime.

Our first day was a day for exploring downtown Zürich. We dropped our belongings at our charming Airbnb (highly recommend – so perfect!), and set out to see what we could see. We found Lake Zürich and were delighted to see all of the wildlife there. We were possibly more excited to learn that the German word for “swan” was “Hockerschwan”. C’mon, it’s just so fun to say. And look how large they are! They looked like little white boats gliding towards us on the water. IMG_2954

 The next day we decided to make our way to Uetliberg, Zürich’s highest point with an exceptionally stunning view of the Alps and the cityscape of Zürich. It was a train and a hike but the price of the ticket was worth it and this view inspired us to go see the Alps the next day.

IMG_2499
The view that we could not take our eyes away from at the top of Uetliberg mountain!

IMG_4578

IMG_3236
I was pretty proud of myself for climbing this tall rock in my beloved Stuart Weitzman boots to get this photo.  

 

 

Our third and final full day in the Confoederatio Helvetica, we booked a pricey tour to venture into the Alps that we had seen atop Uetliberg. It was around 130 swiss francs, but let me tell you, it was worth every penny. I was even moved to tears (don’t worry, I played it cool) at the awesomeness of our Creator who made our earth. It was raw beauty. We went to the Interlaken area and from there we made our way up the Jungfraujoch mountains – a part of the Bernese Swiss Alps. Our first stop was at a small ski village that was bustling with skiers and nearly at the top of the mountain. We saw the real North Face here, too. We paused here for lunch and then made our way to Grindelwald which I am dying to bring my family to for our next ski trip. The town was adorable. I’ll let the photos speak for themselves:

IMG_3993
Swiss Hot Chocolate was a must-try!

IMG_3196

IMG_3199
The charming and charismatic town of Grindelwald.
IMG_3162
Our pause for lunch with a view of the North Face!
IMG_3207
The train ride up the mountain was the best part. 

IMG_3204IMG_3974IMG_3016

IMG_3200
My new friend Rachel and I in Interlaken! 

IMG_3015

 

 

Leave a Reply

